New Apple iPhone 4S announced with dual core A5 chip, 8MP camera, global connectivity

And just like that, it happened: Apple has officially announced its fifth-generation iPhone. It’s not called iPhone 5, but iPhone 4S.

Sadly for those who’ve been expecting a new and revolutionary design, the iPhone 4S looks pretty much like the older iPhone 4.

Of course, the internals are new – and that’s why Apple is calling the 4S “the most amazing iPhone ever.” First of all, the iPhone 4S has both GSM/UMTS and CDMA connectivity – yes, the iPhone is truly a global phone now, and is capable of providing download speeds of up to 14.4Mbps (on HSPA). Next we have an A5 dual-core chip, dual-core graphics, improved battery life, Siri voice recognition (which seems great – check it out here at Apple), iOS5, and iCloud.

The display of the iPhone 4S is the same 3.5 inch Retina Display included in the iPhone 4.

As anticipated, the camera on the new iPhone 4S is an 8MP one – it features backside illumination, Hybrid IR filter, f/2.4 aperture, and is a lot faster than the 5MP camera the iPhone 4 has. It “takes just 1.1 seconds to the first photo and just half a second for the next shot.” 1080p video recording with video image stabilization is also included.

There will be three iPhone 4S versions: 16GB, 32GB, and 64GB (in either black, or white). Their prices are as follows: $199, $299, and $399, respectively (all prices are for the US market, and require a new 2-yr contract).

Pre-orders will start on October 7. The launch day will be October 14. And, more importantly, Apple has confirmed that Sprint will join AT&T and Verizon in selling the iPhone.

Interestingly, Apple will continue to sell both the iPhone 3GS 8GB, and the iPhone 4 8GB. The first one will be free on contract (remember my free iPhone theory?), while the iPhone 4 8GB will cost $99, also on contract.

By the end of October, the new iPhone 4S will reach lots of international markets, including: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Via Press release

Author: Florin

Share This Post On