iPhone 5S and iPhone 5C to be available in 51 more countries and territories within a month

If you’ve been following the mobile world for a while, by now you’re used to Apple’s smartphone rollouts. Its new products first get launched in a handful of countries only, usually 7 to 14 days after the official announcement. Then a few weeks after that, some more countries are given the honor of carrying the new handset (or handsets, in this case). A few weeks after that even more territories get it, and so on. This is a nice method of ensuring that there are no stock shortages (or if there are any, that they aren’t bad), but it’s also a way of artificially showing that the interest for Apple’s new products is high.

If the company would simply release a new iPhone everywhere on the same day, then certainly it would break all possible sales records for, let’s say, the first month. But after one or two more months, almost everyone that wanted a new iPhone got a new iPhone, so global sales levels would drop – harshly. But by constantly adding new countries in which the new iPhone is out, and spacing these additions over the course of, say, two months, Apple makes sure that the drop in sales after the first month or so isn’t that dramatic. And this, we assume, comforts the company’s investors.

Today the company announced its second round of launches for the iPhone 5S (pictured below) and iPhone 5C. These handsets are currently for sale only in the US, Australia, Canada, China, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Japan, Puerto Rico, Singapore, and the UK.


But on October 25 they will also be out in Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, French West Indies, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Reunion Island, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan and Thailand.

Just a few days after that, on November 1, availability will be expanded to Albania, Armenia, Bahrain, Colombia, El Salvador, Guam, Guatemala, India, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Saudi Arabia, Turkey and the UAE as well.

So in total, 51 new countries and territories will be getting the new iPhones within a month from now, bringing the grand total number up to 62. If you live in any of these places, make sure you get your moneys ready – and remember to stand in line.

Author: Vlad Bobleanta

Share This Post On